Skip to main content

Dear Parents and Friends,

On behalf of the Governing Body, I would like to inform you of the changes to our membership and also provide an overview of the role governors play in supporting Tetney Primary School.

In November 2017, I was elected as Chair of Governors by the Governing Body and Andrew Moorby has since been elected to take on the role of Vice Chair.  We are both extremely committed to these roles and are looking forward to working alongside both governors and staff to continue to drive improvements and raise standards throughout the school.

Currently, we are a team of nine dedicated volunteers from a wide variety of commercial and educational backgrounds, who working in conjunction with Miss Addison and Miss Winn as staff governors, meet at least every half term under the "circle model" of governance. This model promotes the building of key skills and proficiencies across all areas of governance and proves to be an extremely effective method in ensuring successful communication and strategic management.

As governors, we have three core remits, which are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Each of these are delivered through the effective support and challenge of the Headteacher with continual evaluation of  the integrity of data and evidence via a rigorous programme of monitoring. It is this evaluation which underpins our knowledge of the school to allow us to make informed strategic decisions.

At the forefront of each and every decision we make, is the successful development of all our pupils, both socially and academically, providing the very best education we can, in a safe, happy and nurturing environment.


Should you need to contact the Governing Body, you can do so through the usual school channels, or alternatively you can email


Yours sincerely,


Tarnia Roberts

Chair of Governors